This year’s Electronics Entertainment Expo is gearing up to be the biggest yet. The last few months have seen the internet run rampant with supposed E3 rumors, and if even a handful of them are true then this year’s E3 should be amazing.

Wii 1.5?

Nintendo’s big news this year is their upcoming console codenamed Project Cafe. Rumored to be up to the standards of Xbox 360 or PS3, and coming with a controller featuring a six inch touch screen, Cafe is making Nintendo fans grin from ear to ear.

Honestly, Cafe is what the Wii really should have been. Compared to the consoles out at the time, Wii was a pathetic piece of technology which staked itself on being the first console to focus on motion control, this is the main reason I completely stopped caring about Nintendo or anything they did.

Nintendo’s biggest game this year is undoubtedly Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword, the latest installment in a franchise that has managed to last 25 years, not an easy feat in the gaming industry. Skyward Sword is heavily focused on motion controls which will allow players to use Link’s weapons to their full potential. Hopefully they’ll announce a release date and give us an on stage demo which actually works (unlike previous ones)

 

What? No Pie Charts?

E3 is a crucial opportunity for Sony to restore some faith after the PR nightmare that was the PSN hack. With the PlayStation Store still down, PS3 owners will have a lot of doubt in their minds about PS3 as a reliable source of digital distribution. It takes gamers a long time to forget and even longer to forgive, but if they can pull it off E3 might prove to be enough of a distraction that we give Sony break on this one.

Sony’s NGP will get a great deal of focus at this years E3 and rightly so, with Nintendo unveiling a new console, Sony really needs to push the capabilities of this Next Generation Portable, and hopefully gain some ground in the handheld market. It’s a good bet that we’ll finally get the NGP’s pricing and release details, as well as a look at its launch library which I’m sure will blow the 3DS’ out of the water. Unfortunately, the NGP is reliant on the PlayStation store, so in order to reach its full potential Sony will need to kick into gear.

Rumors are already circulating that Sony is hard at work on a successor to the PS3, which at this point shouldn’t be that hard to guess. The next-gen consoles are supposedly on a 10 year cycle, it would be stupid for any company to not have started development already.

Sony has released a slew of incredible games this year and we’re barely at the halfway point, it would be nice to see some big hitting announcements though… I would hate for the entire conference to be taken up by a handheld and apologies about the hacks.

 

An E3 without Milo is automatically good

Microsoft has been absurdly quiet this year, major announcements have been avoided until now, so expect them to unleash their full might at E3.

There are of course the obvious game announcements like Alan Wake 2, and game demos like Gears of War 3 and Modern Warfare 3, but the real gems of their show are the rumored games, GTA:V? Yes please.

Despite Bungie saying that Reach was their last installment in the Halo franchise, rumors have been floating around that an HD version of Halo: Combat Evolved will be announced at this years E3. I don’t know anybody that would be disappointed by that announcement, it’s one I really hope is true.

Expect Kinect. Kinect this, Kinect that, maybe an Xbox with Kinect built into it?  Kinect 2.0? Who knows? Just don’t be surprised when they spend half of the show talking about Kinect’s success and its future possibilities.

Press Conference Schedule:

Konami – June 2, 2011 – 5:00 PM PDT / 12:00 PM GMT

Microsoft – June 6, 2011 – 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

Electronic Arts – June 6, 2011 – 12:30 PM PDT / 7:30 PM GMT

Ubisoft – June 6, 2011 – 2:30 PM PDT / 9:30 PM GMT

Sony – June 6, 2011 – 5:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM GMT (June 7)

Nintendo – June 7, 2011 – 9:00 AM PDT / 4:00 PM GMT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *